Oink

Oink is what my kids respond with if you ask them what a pig says. Why they say Oink I have no idea, sure all the toys or kids videos tell them that a pig says oink but my kids know first hand what a pig sounds like. Every spring we get pigs to raise for meat, we go to a local guy who breeds them and sells them for kids doing 4H fairs or people like us who raise them just to butcher in the fall. I have never once heard one of the pigs say “oink”, I’d probably do a double take if one did though. They do however make all kinds of other noises, they grunt, squeal, squeak, this chatter thing (my favorite noise) and all kinds in between these. I love having the pigs and when fall does come around it can be a little sad to load them up in the trailer knowing what happens next but thats the plan from day one and have you ever seen full grown pigs? They are HUGE! Like 700lbs huge, we only let ours get to about 300lbs and they eat a lot at that size so I can’t even imagine how much they eat at 700lbs.

Do you raise any animals, food or not? I’d love to hear about it!

 

522676_4757388538047_1702682278_n

2 thoughts on “Oink

Leave a Reply

