Spring is here, right?

It’s March 25th and spring is in full swing here at Raising Egg’s Farm. We have our piglets, meat chickens (which will be ready in another week for butcher), our laying chicks came in today, seeds started indoors and a new farm dog. However mother nature has not taken the hint, she’s still stuck in winter mode. I am ready for her to switch to spring mode though, our yard is a muddy mucky mess (which is not so great with a new puppy, who is white might I add). It makes all the farm chores a bummer, not fun like they would be if it were at least 50 deg and sunny. It makes it more expensive as I have to keep heating on the outside animals and their water, I have to buy straw (which I do even through the summer for bedding but 3x’s the amount in winter) and trekking water to all the waterers is a big pain. I can’t roll out the hose to fill their waterers I have to take pitchers back and fourth to fill them. So basically what I’m saying is I’m ready for it to warm up, even just a little would be great. It doesn’t have to be 80 deg the 60’s would be better than the 30’s. What’s the weather like where you live?

Seedlings

20130325_150001

 

Egg Laying Chicks

20130325_145944-1

new farm dog

8250_4842595028156_1954671729_n

my view outside today

20130325_145833

Leave a Reply

